While attempting to revise a deleted question, I read the SE text below:
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit your question.
edit, did a copy and paste to simplify a paragraph, and after a bit of moving things around, the following text banner, (in white on orange) pops up at the top of the page:
This post has been deleted - no more edits are allowed
If "no more edits are allowed", then why does clicking on
edit still work?
no more edits banner pops up, the user is permitted several edit operations, (typing a little text, deleting chars, etc.). This seems like a waste of SE's resources, and worse, it's a waste of user time.
If the user perseveres, and clicks
Save Edits, the edit saves anyway.
The SE texts contradict:
no more edits.
The SE page behavior doesn't do what one would expect. It allows edits, and saves them. (Which is what I'd prefer.)