2

I certainly get this message much, much, much more often than I actually ever retract my vote.

This seems like a bug.

In fact, I think I often find that my 'close' vote isn't there anymore even though I haven't retracted it. When I try to vote to close again, that's the message that I get.

I used to think that it was due to my making an edit to a question after voting to close it. But now I have an example of a question to which I have made no edits and yet my close vote is gone and I can no longer vote to close.

If this is the intended behavior, I don't know what the desired goal is.

13
  • 1
    Can you give one question as an example of where you got the message when you shouldn't have?
    – JJJ Mod
    Commented Aug 9, 2022 at 2:43
  • @JJJ this one is the latest where I noticed it. I noticed it yesterday. I don't remember when the original vtc date was. And I don't think I've done anything to retract the vtc.
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 9, 2022 at 4:37
  • 4
    Okay, that one you voted to close 20 hours ago, and the question was closed as a result of that and other close votes. It was reopened 11 hours ago. I think you can no longer vote to close it because you already casted a close vote in the previous cycle.
    – JJJ Mod
    Commented Aug 9, 2022 at 4:40
  • @JJJ ty for looking into it. I still think it's a bug to tell users that they took actions they didn't take. And given how frequent this situation is (close/reopen), it's a bug that happens often.
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 9, 2022 at 4:44
  • 1
    Is it a bug that you can't vote to close it or the message is wrong?
    – Joe W
    Commented Aug 9, 2022 at 15:05
  • I'm pretty sure this question belongs on Meta Stack Exchange, not this specific meta site, since it's about the basic software's behavior. That said, I'm not sure it's clear enough to be worth moving.
    – Bobson
    Commented Aug 9, 2022 at 16:56
  • 1
    @JoeW that the message is wrong (because it frequently effects users).
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 10, 2022 at 2:27
  • 1
    @Bobson you are probably right. I don't know. I wouldn't care if it got migrated. But I came across it on this site, so I posted it on this site's meta.
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 10, 2022 at 2:28
  • @Bobson although I am not familiar enough with the delineation between the tools available to moderators vs tools available to the site's developers. In particular, I don't know who populates the strings used as error messages. Maybe they are specific to sites and maybe they are not.
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 10, 2022 at 2:43
  • 5
    Looks like you've encountered this issue.
    – Nat
    Commented Aug 10, 2022 at 8:10
  • @wrod It may be wrong but your question lacks the details needed to fully explain what is happening and why it is wrong.
    – Joe W
    Commented Aug 10, 2022 at 12:11
  • @Nat ty!. It's good to know that it is already a known bug.
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 11, 2022 at 3:39
  • @Nat I know there is no need to be formal about the things on this meta site, but if you post your comment as an answer, it should probably be the accepted answer. I am sure this bug, if it doesn't get fixed, will bother others, at some future time, too. In which case, the Q&A might help them see what's going on.
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 12, 2022 at 1:26

1 Answer 1

4

As per one of the comments to this question, this is a bug already reported on meta.SE site.

Anyone who wants to follow the progress on it should probably do it on the main meta site.

2
  • FWTW, I think the javascript gets borked after a while when keeping the site open (for days). Try closing and reopening the browser process. At least that fixed some related issue for me involving double-clicked delete buttons meta.stackexchange.com/questions/380711/… I did not encouter this one you describe (about close votes). Commented Aug 13, 2022 at 8:13
  • @Fizz maybe. i think js may get paused if you switch tabs. About this bug though, I think the main meta is right. It's probably just the message you get if you try to vtc after it gets closed/reopened and you were one of the original close votes. But if you don't remember voting to close, the message looks like a bug every single time.
    – wrod
    Commented Aug 13, 2022 at 12:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .